Sindhupalchowk Municipality

There are only 3 municipalities in the Sindhupalchok district. According to the notice published in the gazette on the 27th of Falgun 2073, Chautara Sangachok Gadhi, Melamchi, and Bahrabise are the municipalities of Sindhupalchok. Three municipalities of Sindhupalchok have been formed within the various rules and boundaries set by the Local Government Operation Act.

The list of municipalities is as follows;

  1. Chautara Sangachowk Gadhi Municipality: Chautara Sangachowkgadhi is a town in central Nepal, in the Sindhupalchowk District. It became a municipality on May 18, 2014, when four Village Development Committees (Pipaldanda, Chautara, Kubhinde, and Sanusiruwari) merged to form Chautara Municipality. In 2017, it expanded further by merging with six more Village Development Committees (Sangachok, Thulo Sirubari, Kadambas, Irkhu, Batase, and Syaule) to become Chautara Sangachowkgadi Municipality. It is now divided into 14 wards and serves as the district headquarters for Sindhupalchowk District.
  2. Barhabise Municipality: Bahrabise Municipality is one of the three municipalities in the Sindhupalchowk district. It was formed by merging several Village Development Committees according to a new government structure. The municipality now has 9 wards and ranges in altitude from 500 to 4000 meters above sea level. It is classified as a Himalayan municipality due to its mountainous terrain. Bahrabise municipality is bordered by Dolakha district to the east, Balefi and Jugal rural municipalities to the west, Bhotekoshi rural municipality to the north, and Tripura Sundari rural municipality to the south.
  3. Melamchi Municipality: On December 16, 2014, the Government of Nepal decided to merge seven villages to form Melamchi Municipality. These villages were Melamchi, Jamire, Shikharpur, Talamarang, Sindhukot, Banswari, and Phatakshila. Later, on March 12, 2017, four more Village Development Committees (VDCs) were added to Melamchi Municipality. These VDCs were Votechaur, Haibung, Thakani, and Duwachaur. After this reorganization, Melamchi Municipality now has 13 wards.